Contact & People

Department of Chemistry
Irving K. Barber Faculty of Science
University of British Columbia Okanagan
3247 Research Road
Kelowna, BC V1V 1V7
Canada

Email: chemistry.okanagan@ubc.ca
Please direct all general inquires to the above email address.

Find a Program Advisor

Find our people

Role:
Disciplines:
Search Keyword:

Nitin | MSc Student | Chemistry | nikhawk@gmail.com
Susan Black | Assistant | Chemistry | susan.black@ubc.ca | 250.807.9985 | FIP 355
Michele Cannon | Lab Technician | Chemistry | michele.cannon@ubc.ca | 250.807.9942 | SCI 224C
Colin Dai | MSc Student | Biochemistry and Molecular Biology | colindai@alumni.ubc.ca | FIP 245
Research Interests: Designing a DNA-based biosensor specifically targeting exosomes/vesicles with different size.
Thu-Thuy Dang | Assistant Professor | Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Chemistry | thuy.dang@ubc.ca | 250.807.9468 | FIP 354

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Discovering new biosynthetic enzymes and pathways; generating specialized metabolites structural and functional diversities; re-constituting natural products metabolism in synthetic biology chassis.
Courses & Teaching: Biochemistry
Eric Dennis | Lab Technician | Chemistry | eric.dennis@ubc.ca | 250.807.9031 | SCI 224B
Gino DiLabio | Professor | Chemistry | gino.dilabio@ubc.ca | 250.807.8617 | ASC 406

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Computational studies of i) radical reactions involving organic, inorganic, biological and solid-state systems; ii) noncovalent interactions; iii) oxygen-centred radical induced damage of proteins.
Courses & Teaching: Physical and computational chemistry.
Osei Boakye Fordwour | PhD Student | Biochemistry and Molecular Biology | osei.fordwour@ubc.ca | FIP 245B
Research Interests: Total characterization of acetone monooxygenase, a novel Baeyer Villiger monooxygenase (BVMO), and its possible application as a diagnosis enzyme in the health sector.
Jill Forsyth | MSc Student | Chemistry | jill.forsyth@hotmail.com | FIP 306
Research Interests: Plant chemistry; the analysis of plant secondary metabolites and their roles in growth and development.
Tamara Freeman | Associate Professor | Chemistry | tamara.freeman@ubc.ca | 250.807.8223 | SCI 210
Research Interests: First year coordinator of lectures and laboratories.
Jolene Garber | Postdoctoral Fellow | Chemistry | jolene.garber@ubc.ca
Research Interests: Milk oligosaccharides; gastrointestinal mucins; sialidase activity; method development for carbohydrate analysis.
Robert Godin | Assistant Professor | Chemistry | robert.godin@ubc.ca | 250.807.8438 | FIP 341

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Transient absorption spectroscopy/microscopy to determine the charge carrier dynamics of materials for solar energy conversion; photochemistry and photophysics; carbon-based photocatalytic materials; sustainable energy and material production.
Courses & Teaching: Photovoltaics and photocatalysis; chemical kinetics; physical chemistry; spectroscopy.
David Jack | Associate Professor | Chemistry | david.jack@ubc.ca | 250.807.8747 | FIP 344

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Chemical and physical processes at solid surfaces; phase transitions; molecular computer simulations; heterogeneous catalysis; functional surfaces; nanoscience.
Courses & Teaching: Physical, biophysical, quantum, and computational chemistry.
Abisola Z. Kehinde | MSc Student | Biochemistry and Molecular Biology | abisola.kehinde@ubc.ca | FIP 306
Research Interests: Establishing breadfruit as a sustainable and healthy food source for generations to come (Plant Chemistry and Biotechnology)
M. Hossein Khalilian | PhD Student | Chemistry | khalilian@live.com | FIP 245A
Research Interests: Using quantum mechanical modelling techniques to see quantum effects in radical enzymes; investigating mechanism of chemical reactions, including those related to organic and biological systems by means of computational methods.
Seongho Kim | Postdoctoral Fellow | Chemistry | seongho.kim@ubc.ca | 236.457.3480
Research Interests: Mechanobiology
Natalie Kirkwood | Graduate Program Assistant | Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Chemistry, Earth, Environmental and Geographic Sciences | natalie.kirkwood@ubc.ca | 250.807.9289 | ASC 406
Viki Kumar Prasad | PhD Student | Chemistry | vikikumarprasad@gmail.com | FIP 245A
Research Interests: Method development; treatment of non-covalent interactions; density functional theory; time-dependent density functional theory.
Jennifer Kuntz | Sr. Department Administrative Assistant | Chemistry | jen.kuntz@ubc.ca | 250.807.8769 | FIP 355-1
Isaac Li | Assistant Professor | Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Chemistry | isaac.li@ubc.ca | 250.807.8069 | FIP 343

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Single-molecule biophysics; programmable molecular devices and biosensors; cancer and immune cell biology; cell mechanics and mechanobiology.
Courses & Teaching: Nucleic Acid, Cellular and Molecular Biophysics, Instrumentation, Physical Chemistry
Summer Li | Postdoctoral Fellow | Chemistry | xia.li@ubc.ca | FIP 245
Research Interests: Exosomal detection and drug delivery.
W. Stephen McNeil | Associate Professor | Chemistry | stephen.mcneil@ubc.ca | 250.807.8751 | FIP 352
Research Interests: Chemistry education: alternative conceptions of advanced bonding models, impacts and effectiveness of active and collaborative learning activities, affective learning outcomes.
Courses & Teaching: Introductory chemistry, molecular structure and bonding, bioinorganic chemistry
Frederic Menard | Associate Professor | Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Chemistry | frederic.menard@ubc.ca | 250.807.8225 | FIP 348

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Chemical biology: use of small molecules to study and manipulate biological systems; design of molecular tools to study the real-time dynamics of cellular events; using organic chemistry, natural products are modified to label proteins involved in cellular signaling; the biology questions studied focus on protein-protein interactions, astrocytes communication, synapse elimination, and neurodegeneration.
Courses & Teaching: Synthetic organic chemistry.
Susan Murch | Professor | Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Chemistry | susan.murch@ubc.ca | 250.807.9566 | FIP 350

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Plant chemistry and biotechnology; the identification, quantification, and metabolism of plant secondary metabolites, the impact of these phytochemicals on human health, and the development of technologies for mass-production of specific plant chemicals as medicines, natural health products, food additives, and functional foods.
Courses & Teaching: Plant biochemistry; bioanalytical chemistry; analytical chemistry.
Edward Neeland | Associate Professor | Chemistry | e.neeland@ubc.ca | 250.807.9572 | SCI 215
Research Interests: Intramolecular hetero-Diels-Alder reactions of furans; development of new synthetic reactions.
Courses & Teaching: Organic chemistry; advanced synthesis; advanced structural analysis.
Ben Olafsen | MSc Student | Chemistry | ben.olafsen37@gmail.com | FIP 245C
Research Interests: Organometallic synthesis and catalysis with focus on design and activity of chromium complexes for metal mediated radical reactivity.
Zhipeng Pei | MSc Student | Chemistry | zhipeng.pei@yahoo.com | FIP 245A
Research Interests: Computational and theoretical Chemistry; polymer science; remediation of aqueous pollutants.
Karen Perry | Associate Professor & Acting Department Head | Chemistry | karen.perry@ubc.ca | 250.807.9570 | SCI 207
Research Interests: Geochemical oceanography and limnology, mineralization of organic matter, saline lakes.
Courses & Teaching: Environmental and analytical chemistry.
Riley Petillion | PhD Student | Chemistry | riley.petillion@ubc.ca | Fipke 245
Research Interests: Chemistry education: Development and assessment of active learning delivery models.
Winnie Pun | Research Project Coordinator | Chemistry | winnie.pun@ubc.ca
Jennifer Robison | Lab Manager | Chemistry | jennifer.robison@ubc.ca | 250.807.9568 | SCI 212
Paul Shipley | Associate Professor | Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Chemistry | paul.shipley@ubc.ca | 250.807.8749 | EME 3161

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Organic chemistry; natural products biosynthesis; the biochemistry of secondary metabolism; nuclear magnetic resonance spectrometry; rational modification of biosynthetic pathways in bacteria to produce novel compounds with the potential to be pharmacologically relevant.
Courses & Teaching: Organic chemistry; structural spectrometry; bioorganic chemistry
Kevin Smith | Professor | Chemistry | kevin.m.smith@ubc.ca | 250.807.9933 | FIP 351

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Synthesis and reactivity of paramagnetic organometallic chromium compounds of relevance to catalytic carbon-carbon bond forming reactions; single electron transfer reactions and electronic structure effects in synthetic organometallic chemistry.
Courses & Teaching: Inorganic synthesis; organometallic chemistry; coordination chemistry; transition metal catalysts.
Mitra Tabatabaee | PhD Student | Biochemistry and Molecular Biology | mitra.tabatabaee@ubc.ca | FIP 245B
Research Interests: Neurobiology
Kirsten Wolthers | Associate Professor | Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Chemistry | kirsten.wolthers@ubc.ca | 250.807.8663 | SCI 377

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Enzyme guided radical-chemistry; use of fast reaction and spectroscopic methods to probe the interplay between protein dynamics, function and structure; rationale-design of biocatalysts; study of vitamin-derived cofactors by biological systems.
Courses & Teaching: Enzymology; biochemistry.
Adam Yasunaga | PhD Student | Biochemistry and Molecular Biology | adam.yasunaga@alumni.ubc.ca | FIP 245
Research Interests: Development of molecular force sensors that will be used to study the forces involved in cellular processes such as adhesion and rolling. With these force sensors, we will be able to better quantify the forces that cells experience in their environment and how they respond to these forces.
Wesley Zandberg | Assistant Professor | Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Chemistry | wesley.zandberg@ubc.ca | 250.807.9821 | SCI 209

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Analytical glycobiology: the use of modern instrumental techniques to study carbohydrates, their oligomers (glycans) and their metabolism; developing new methods to investigate carbohydrates; and using chemical and analytical tools to investigate the functions of protein-linked glycans in cells and animals.
Courses & Teaching: Instrumental analytical chemistry
Ieva Zigg | Lab Technician | Chemistry | izigg@mail.ubc.ca | 250-807-8820 | SCI 221B